The importance of booby traps…

If I sit quietly on the back porch and listen to the cicadas, I can recall a time when I didn’t come inside during the daylight hours.  A time when tree forts were awesome, frogs were caught, and woods were explored.  Bikes were ridden without helmets, and roller skates were used on sidewalks.  Neighbors knew everyone’s children, and where exactly you were supposed to be if you accidentally stayed out past the time the street lights came on.  I can remember going to bed with just a bit of light outside and seriously being upset.  There was more time to play.  I wasn’t finished yet.

As I got older, I was allowed to stay up later and later.  We started playing flash light tag, kickball in the street, and catching fireflies to make our own night lights (yes we let them go).  The summers were usually so hot that by the time I came in my hair was plastered to my forehead, and I was exhausted.  I would usually go to bed and dream about my adventures.

During the day, I would imagine myself as an explorer.  I would go back in the woods and find the coolest places to set up forts.  On one such occasion, my buddy, let’s call her “D”, went with me.  I found a place with the perfect climbing tree, a vine to sit on, and it was surrounded by what I called “Devil’s Walking Sticks“.  Now, it could have been a coincidence, but later I found out there really was a plant named that.  Anyway, why did I think this particular place was cool when it was surrounded by thorny sticks?  I broke them off and surrounded our “fort” with booby traps.  If you happen to come near, I would know by your scream.  Yes, this sounds terrible; however, I watched The Goonies and I knew all about the importance of “booby traps”.

You never knew who was back in those woods…okay, so technically, it was only kids, but still.  Life would be much easier if we could protect ourselves with booby traps.

“A lot of the films I’ve made probably could have worked just as well 50 years ago, and that’s just because I have a lot of old-fashion values.”  ~Steven Spielberg

Leave a Reply

