Not for the squeamish…

I have lost count of how many phlebotomies I have had over the years.  When this all started, I had no idea I would ever write about it.  The concept of the diseases alone were too scary for me to ever let anyone know what was going on.  It was easier for me to hide it back then.  But as I got older, I realized I could help people deal with their own private battles, so here I am.

I want to start off by saying that I have the most amazing nurse in the world.  I don’t think she realizes how much it means to me that she never questions me when I call, and that due to all the trouble I have had over the years trying to get appointments (the staff at the front desk changes each year), she remains there like a rock for me to lean on.  That being said, she pulled out the big guns today.  Ouch.  I am talking about needles.  Avert your eyes….

Oh it doesn’t look so bad once it’s in, but she says the words “big stick” right before she slides it through my flesh.  It has to be angled just right or the blood won’t flow correctly.  She puts the blood pressure cuff on for the right amount of pressure and then I squeeze a little ball resembling a red blood cell.  It didn’t want to work so well today.  Each time she tried to tape it in place so she could get a few samples off the pint, it stopped flowing.  So she sat there and pulled it out and massaged my vein.  We love it when the blood starts to flow quickly; however, it does make me light-headed to be able to fill a bag in 20 minutes or .  She won’t let me leave until I finish a can of ginger-ale.  Also, I told her about my blog, so she held the bag up for me today.

  Dracula would be proud.


“How blessed are some people, whose lives have no fears, no dreads; to whom sleep is a blessing that comes nightly, and brings nothing but sweet dreams .”  ~Bram Stoker

2 thoughts on “Not for the squeamish…

  1. I can get a shot, I can give blood, but if I look at the needle in my arm I go all woozy. I just look at teh other way and find a happy place… good on you for putting up with that AND having the mindset to take pictures. =)

    Like

    1. I should have attached the close-up of the needle once it was actually out, but it had a drop of blood falling off it. Maybe I’ll use it later on:) Ha. Or maybe I will put it in one of my early posts just to keep you guessing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

