Summer storms…

My daughter asked me what it was like to live with three diseases.  She asked if it was strange.  I said no more so than you being a girl or a dog being a dog.  My girls thought that was funny so then they went into some discussion about how a whelk is born a boy or a girl (they couldn’t remember which one) and then turns into the other.  We all have things we live with.

I think my friends finally get my “hermit” moods and I know for certain my family can tell when I am not feeling my best.  I know this sounds weird, but summer is hard for me.  Getting out of the house is actually a big thing in the summer.  Staying in the shade is hard to do when you take your kids to the pool.  I secretly love thunder storms because I can just use that as an excuse not to do anything.  I have to MAKE myself get out of bed.  I think I would sleep all day long.  That being said, I have some new friends who feel the same way.  I am trying to help them feel better about their conditions as well.  They might not have the same type of porphyria, but navigating through the doctorese is the same for all of us.

I have a Twitter account now and I post more inspirational quotes there, so if you want to follow me feel free.  See the side bar here for more info on that.  I also would like to say thank you to everyone who messages me on Facebook and says “Wow, I didn’t know this was you.”  Life doesn’t always give you what you want, but maybe sometimes it gives you what you need.

“I’ve learned that you shouldn’t go through life with a catcher’s mitt on both hands; you need to be able to throw something back.”  ~Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

