A Chips moment…

The last two days have been interesting.  I was going to post something last night, but I needed to calm myself down.  I got a speeding ticket yesterday for the first time in over 11 years.  This bothered me because my little one was in the back of the car and we had just pulled out of our street and were still in our neighborhood.  She was going on and on about how hot it was and why didn’t I roll the windows down and she couldn’t feel any air and put the air on her and then do this, etc.  Ackkkk!  The blue light special showed up right in front of me.  Where the heck did he come from?  No clue as I was busy with chatterbox.  I don’t even know what speed I was going quite frankly.  “How are you doing today?” he asks.  Well, I was better until a moment ago (yes, I really said that).  “What seems to be the hurry?”  There is no hurry, and then I go on about my child’s behavior and how distracted I was.  He looks at her and says “Did you distract your mommy?”.  She politely answers “No”.  I mean really.  NO???  So he asks what year my car is, and then asks for my license.

I had one window of opportunity to fix this thing, and my child answers no.  Sigh.  I don’t blame her.  It was my fault.  Apparently, motorcycle cops are the devil (no offense of course).  I see him taking his time, and wiping down the seat of his motorcycle with a rag.  He’s just back there having a good ole’ time while I fume quietly in my seat.  So, he brings me the ticket and I go to reach for the clipboard and he pulls it away.  He wasn’t done reading to me.  Seriously, he looks pissed that I had the nerve to try to reach for it.  So when he finally hands it to me, I drop it.  It really was an accident.  It was heavy.  It fell down my car door to his feet.  Take deep breaths.  This happened for some reason that is greater than me.  It did not just happen so he can meet his quota and the city can charge exorbitant fees.  He asks me if I have any questions, and well, hard to believe it, but I said no.  My child is in the car and I need to behave.  If I secretly want to ask him if he thinks he is Erik Estrada, well at least I didn’t say it.

“The whole business is built on ego, vanity, self-satisfaction, and it’s total crap to pretend it’s not.”

~George Michael

Leave a Reply

