Young and reckless…

I just got back from a girlfriend’s weekend away.  As we were walking down the hallway to our room in the hotel, a bunch of teenage boys were being very loud as we passed them in the whirlpool area.  They started walking behind us and said something like “It’s so hard being young and reckless.”  I said something like it’s so hard being old and able to buy wine.  Seriously.  It just kind of fell out of my mouth because I remember being a teenager and we couldn’t wait to buy alcohol.  I’m not sure why everyone thought life would easier if you could drive and go to clubs, but that seemed to be what everyone wanted.

Now picture this…remember the movie Big?  Sure you do.  Instead of wishing to be “big” when Zoltar opens his mouth, wouldn’t it be neat to go back to your childhood?  Okay, so some people might not think this is the best idea ever, but imagine if you could wish to go back for a single episode of your childhood.  Maybe it’s a birthday, Christmas, or some other special occasion.  If you are like me, it could be just to see your relatives that are no longer with you.  Don’t get sad.  You have your very own Zoltar machine inside your head.  All you have to do is close your eyes and remember.

I think I’ll go back to the time that I was playing in the woods all day long with my friend and we decided to take a short-cut through the field to Dicken’s pond.  I had long crazy hair and skin that was so dark my Native American ancestors would be proud.  I ran around like a mad woman and by the time I came home, I looked like one too.  Think Tina Turner in Mad Max.  Anyway, I had so many burrs in my hair my mom had to pull and/or cut them out.  What was I thinking?  Well, I wasn’t.  It was summer, and the point was to have fun.  Just like the time I almost got sucked into the mud of the swamp with my friend and then I remembered to use the cypress knees to walk near as the ground would be more stable.  It was a very Stand by Me moment.  We thought we were going to sink in the swamp.  I believe we did pick leeches off at a later date, but who cares, right?  Oh to be young and reckless.  I have so many of these stories that I will have to save a few for later.

“The things which the child loves remain in the domain of the heart until old age.  The most beautiful thing in life is that our souls remaining over the places where we once enjoyed ourselves.”  ~Kahlil Gibran

 

 

 

One thought on “Young and reckless…

Leave a Reply

