Bubblewrap…

Every weekend seems to be full of activities.  We are truly blessed, don’t get me wrong.  I just want to slow it down a little.  I can’t describe exactly how I am feeling as I find it hard to put into words.  I see my children growing up so quickly and at times it scares me.  I have, from the very beginning of their birth, tried to hold on tightly to each minute I had with them.  I was fortunate enough to be able to stay at home with them for four years.  As this school year comes to a close, I am a bit emotional.  If you have been following my blog, you know that this year was not exactly pleasant for me health wise, so perhaps that is why these thoughts of age are closing in tonight.  Putting all that aside, I see my children growing up in a world that is much different from the world I knew as a child.

My oldest will be in fifth grade next year.  I am not sure why this thought bothers me, but it does.  Perhaps it is because this is the point where children aren’t sure if they can be children anymore.  What is cool today might not be tomorrow.  I don’t want to be a “hover” parent, but at the same time, I am going to monitor what she does.  I think that the hardest job of a parent is seeing them learn from their mistakes.  I am not ready for that…I know this.  I think back on my experiences and I know that each one was a valuable lesson learned, and that whatever knowledge I gained led me to where I am today; however, I still want to be like that woman in the commercial who wraps her child in bubble wrap.

“Time is the coin of your life. It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent. Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you.
~Carl Sandburg

Leave a Reply

