Connecting…

I’ll be the first one to admit it…sometimes I am in a bad mood.  It happens to the best of us and if you don’t think so, well you’re wrong.  Even Mother Teresa had bad days…but she made the best of what she was given.  I was just on my social networking site of choice and read the status update of a “friend” who lost everything in a house fire.  I put the word friend in quotes not because I don’t like him, but because we have never met.  In a matter of minutes other people he had never met started posting things and one guy told him if he could come get it, he had clothes and furniture.  This is the power of our time.  This is the good something like this site can accomplish.  I always hear people complaining about how vague this site can be when they decide it’s time to change things, and while I agree, it can be used for the greater good.

Many people take it for granted and think of it almost like a living breathing entity.  When they aren’t connected to it they almost feel like they are missing something.  I understand that feeling.  Some people get mad at it like it has some control over their life.  While others post way too much information that can lead to trouble in the workplace, home, or even your stalker friends you weren’t aware of.  I personally find that check-in system creepy.  That’s right.  Creepy.  I am really glad you just got a drink at your local watering hole, but why are you announcing it to everyone?  Even more baffling is why do I need to know what I just said to someone???  I admit I have CRS on occasion, but I don’t need a running commentary on my wall.

And let’s not forget the time someone thought they needed to be my doppelgänger.  Talk about pissing me off.  I started posting quotes from the Highlander movie.  “In the end, there can be only one.”  I found myself eying the sword we have hanging on the wall like I was Duncan MacLeod.  Anyway, all that aside, I still believe it’s a pretty good platform to plug into while bridging the gap between old, new, and never before met friends.  There are some people on there that I am really glad I “met”.  You might be one of them.

“Creativity is the power to connect the seemingly unconnected.”  ~William Plomer

Leave a Reply

